View Full Version : Sensitive to light...Really sensitive

tenese
05-08-11, 03:23 PM
I am kinda new to all of this as I was diagnosed with ADD a couple years ago.
My daughter has sensory integration disorder and I think I may have it too.
Does anyone have really sensitive eyes? I feel like I always need my sunglasses even on overcast days when the sun is not bright. I feel like the light just blinds me and it is hard for me to focus and I start to get anxious. I never really thought about it before. I just kind of lived with it.
I have always perferred the dark even as a child. I remember even hiding in my closet for hours because I just liked it. I know its wierd.
Even as an adult I never have my lights on. My family and friends complain that its always dark in my house. I have no problem reading in the dark as well which people always say "here I'll turn the light on for you so you can read" and I decline and they are amazed I can see in the dark.
Does anyone else have this problem or is just me?

Lunacie
05-08-11, 07:43 PM
I've been fighting with other people most of my life because I want the curtains closed and they want them open. The light is too bright. Driving is a nightmare for me. In the daytime it's the sun reflecting of all those glass windows in other cars, at night it's the headlights blinding me. Just horrible.

Big box stores that are too bright are not good places for me - we've had some threads here about how much some of hate those stores.

But I'm too sensitive about everything. Small noises drive me crazy, loud noises make me feel like my heart is going to burst out of my chest, annoying noises (like the ice cream truck) make me want to get a shotgun and Make The Noise Stop. Smells are bad for me, especially fragrances like air freshener and fabric softener and cigarette smoke. And touch is a problem, I can only wear certain kinds of clothes, and weather that's really hot or cold makes me feel horrible.