View Full Version : Help me help my adult ADD son

ADD moved in
05-20-11, 08:44 PM
I am new to ADDforum and thought maybe someone could give me advice on how to help my adult son with ADD & hypoactivity who has just moved back home. His wife is divorcing him due to his ADD problems. He has not lived here for over 14 years now and I had no idea that he was so unmotivated and unfocused. I can't tell if it is the hypoactivity or depression over the divorce. He's on meds and he sees a counselor. I feel as if he is this child that I need to guide and remind him to do simple things like laundry, buy his milk, make appointments. He's 35. I'm torn between coming down hard on him for sleeping so much, doing so little and just doing things for him (like laundry, etc.) that he really should be doing himself. Any ideas? Is there any support groups for families?

Maicat
03-30-13, 10:45 AM
My son is 32, and has ADD quite profoundly. He still lives at home. He doesn't work, and spends all day in his bedroom either watching TV, playing music or playing his guitar. He takes his food up there and doesn't sit downstairs with his father and me.

He drinks a lot of alcohol more or less on a daily basis. He has had friends but all seem to eventually come to an abrupt end.

He has no sense of money value, and I blame myself to letting that happen to a degree as he can't organize himself which is part of the ADD.

There doesn't seem to be any help for adults with ADD that I know of. Does anyone know of any.

My husband and I would like him to be independant and leave home to lead a normal life, but being realistic, I can't see this happening as any approach to the subject ends with him walking away and refusing to discuss it.

Any comments would be very welcome.

mrzyphl
03-30-13, 12:14 PM
I moved back in with my Mom when I was 32. I was lazy, disorganized and
unfocused. I didn't know I had ADD so I was always trying to overcome