View Full Version : Wondering HOW it FEELS to have a tic (TS / Tourettes Syndrome)

GirlDriver
08-31-04, 01:48 AM
I am a newbie and have read many of the posts here, but am wondering what the "onset" or "urge" to tic feels like?

Is it anything like the anxiety an OCD person might feel prior to acting on the obsession? Is it a mental or physical "urge?" If a person stifles a tic, will that cause anxiety until the tic can be released?

Also, has anyone experienced that certain tics occur in certain environments? I have observed a throat-clearing tic that only occurs at home on the sofa, maybe watching T.V. Does that seem odd?

analog guy
08-31-04, 02:04 AM
I have suffered with very mild tics as long as I can remember. They mostly come with stress, but when I have the urge, fighting it is useless. To fight it, I have to think about it, when I think about it, the urge is stronger. It is very much a positive feedback mechanism with me.

Think about it this way *and I'm sorry if it is gross*

you have an irritant in your nose. You want desperately to brush your nose with your hand to make the sensation go away because you don't have a kleenex handy. so you wrinkle your nose. That makes it worse. Now you REALLY want to brush your nose. People are watching, so you dare not be rude, but the urge to DO SOMETHING is mounting. that "sensation" of desperate irritation is how it feels when I have an urge to "bounce" my eyebrows up or click my throat. sometimes it feels like when you try and hold your breath for a long time. Right before you gasp in air, there is a moment when your brain is screaming at you to do something you are conscientiously forcing yourself not to do. Eventually you will lose, and that instant right before you do lose to your involuntary system, while you are still trying to hold your breath in, that is what it feels like to fight the tic.