View Full Version : Coping with ADD as a Professional Actor

MAJJacobs
07-07-11, 11:34 AM
I am a professional actor who was diagnosed with ADD at age 12 after years of unexplained behavior in school. I was never a "behavioral problem" and I was a high achiever when tested, so at the time teachers had trouble quantifying or explaining the behavior. I would hum during class, I was terribly disorganized, would constantly lose things, would distract other students by chatting, and had trouble working in groups. I always had trouble relating to others my own age and often preferred interacting with and entertaining adults who usually found me charming.

At age 12, when diagnosed, I started taking Ritalin, which made me feel deadened, but allowed me to complete my school work. I took Ritalin during school hours until I went away to college in 2001 to study Musical Theatre. I spent one semester without medication and then started taking concerta when I wasn't doing when in my acting classes. My skills started improving immediately and I continued to take the Concerta through college until my prescription was stolen while I was on tour performing. I had recently discovered acupuncture, which has been a life changer for me. It seemed to help with many of my ADD symptoms as well as my problems with anxiety, depression, insomnia and a plethora of other minor issues.