View Full Version : Does excersize help your ADHD?

philuk2000
08-01-11, 10:50 AM
Well thats the question.

I have been very feeling depressed lately (3 -4 weeks), I wont take meds so today I went running to finally try to get a grip on it and I do feel in a better mood now!

I just wondered if anyone here who excersizes regularly finds it helps with their ADD/ADHD symptoms.

of_two_minds
08-01-11, 11:11 AM
I've been exercising regularly for so many years that I don't know if it makes me feel better or not. ;)

That being said, I usually feel pretty darn good right in the middle of it. Then when it's over I'm back to where I started from, psychologically speaking.

ADDisme2010
08-01-11, 12:07 PM
Exercise definately can help with ADHD and depression. It releases endorphins while you exercise which in turn boosts your mood.
I feel better when I exercise regularly. My husband is also ADD, and controls his mainly by DAILY exercise and diet. He is a work-out freak though...lol, but he controls the ADHD this way with-out taking medication.
I feel better while taking medication, so for me, it is a combination of multiples treatments for ADHD.

Quintessence
08-01-11, 02:06 PM
I feel better when I exercise too. I get to release a lot of energy and I feel relaxed after. I've found that I like to workout more in the afternoons than in the morning.

Johnnny
08-01-11, 02:12 PM
If you enjoy exercising like someone else enjoys a hobby than thats great. Work out, learn about the body and boost confidence by feeling great!!

anonymouslyadd
08-01-11, 02:42 PM
If I could exercise like I did when I was a kid, I wouldn't have some of the symptoms I struggle with in terms of ADD.

of_two_minds
08-01-11, 05:06 PM
If I could exercise like I did when I was a kid, I wouldn't have some of the symptoms I struggle with in terms of ADD.

Are your limitations physical or ADD-related?

Hydrostatic
08-01-11, 05:20 PM