View Full Version : Teacher with ADHD

thefer
09-24-11, 08:35 PM
Hi

I am a special education teacher who was diagnosed with ADHD many years ago. I have been on and off medications. Every August, I go in thinking that I won't need medications and I can handle it on my own. Then by the end of Sept, I am climbing the walls, overwhelmed and exhausted and feel the need to go back on medications. I feel like I am on a hamster wheel going around in circles. Thoughts are racing in my head. I am never in the moment. I can't focus on anything. I start things and can't finish them. I put things down and can't remember where I put them. I am very quick to speak without thinking. I have damaged relationships with coworkers because I say things without thinking. I have been in multiple conflicts with coworkers and my supervisor and I have only been at this district for less than 2 months. I go into school every day feeling disliked by everyone. Time management is a foreign concept because as a teacher, I have no time.

The tough part is that I want to stay in this district next year, but I am starting to wonder if I already have burned my bridge because of the ADHD and saying stuff without thinking. I have medication on hand so I am going to restart it tomorrow. I just hate the side effects of feeling like everything is slowing down.

Should I talk to my sped director/school psychologist about it? The working relationship between us is rocky. Should I keep quiet because I am not tenure. There is a reason for why I am acting the way I am. I am not a bad teacher but I feel like it a failure because I can't control what I say or think.

Thanks

KronarTheBlack
09-24-11, 09:21 PM