View Full Version : Advantages and disadvantages of ADHD in school

rickymooston
10-16-11, 12:02 PM
ADHD can be an disadvantage but it can be an advantage too.

How to use your knowledge of yourself to excell?

This is how I see it?
Good
1. Potential to be creative.
2. Potential to be high level focused and really understand.
3. Goal oriented, long term intangible goals won't work for you but short term ones might
4. Ability to do something well, if you get interested in it.
5. Top down focused. if you understand, you will really understand.

Bad
1. Easily bored
2. Hard to keep interested and overcome inertia
3. Easily side tracked.
4. Crapy memory and crappy and doing tedious manual tasks. (practice makes perfect but ...)

Sorry, my creative juices are dead here. I was an ABC student in school. That is, my grades went all over the spectrum.

Nnnnnn
10-16-11, 12:42 PM
Me:

Good:
+daydreams to survive the long hours;););)
+Knowing everything of something that interest me:eek:. I don't need to "study", I am like a vacuum cleaner: read once, downloaded.

Bad:Same as yours
+Making school an enemy territory, a prison
+Not being able to focus when I want, I can't do boring things, peopple tried to force me but it's IMPOSSIBLE.
+Procrastination: Never study, never prepare for exams until the last minute
+Different way of thinking, thoughts are not organised the same way (obvious when everyone around you answer the same way but you can't, that's one of the moment when you feel inferior to others)
+Disorganised too
+Underperform
+Understand everything but can't use them when NEEDED (crappy memory):eek:. I have a very good memory it's just that it doesn't work when I need it, it's in my brain but I can't "grab" it.
+The daydreaming, quiet child doesn't attract others, she doesn't "get" people and doen't know how to interact properly because she constently interrupt, don't listen, distracted etc:cool::o.