View Full Version : Meditation techniques & suggested readings

Chuck Connors
10-16-11, 04:05 PM
There seems to be thousands of ways to practice meditation and there are many commercial ventures who are happy to have you part with your hard earned money in exchange for their program. I'm new to ADHD and want to learn more about meditation. I'm the type of person who prefers to have fewer choices of the style/type of meditation from which to choose than too many choices. I'd appreciate any input on meditation. Also, I'd appreciate any recommendations on books, videos and other materials related to meditation that I can review. Thank you.

Unmanagable
10-16-11, 04:41 PM
I ran across the Chopra Center website many months ago and they were offering a free 21 day guided meditation. All you had to do was register with an email address or log in using facebook. It's the meditation practice that finally clicked with me, made sense, and felt fulfilling.

They feel if you can stick with it for 21 days, it may become a habit. It's guided, so they talk you through it. They let you know that comfort is critical. You don't have to sit in a pretzel-like position that hurts.

They let you know it's okay if your mind wanders - actually - they say if it does wander, then that means your supposed to be thinking about whatever it wanders off to.

They help with breathing techniques, which have been instrumental in helping me reel in my anxiety.

I have tried many other techniques, to no avail. This one "clicked" and has been helpful ever since day one.

I also listen to many different satsangs with Mooji. You can google him and find hundreds of videos. I find the topic that weighs heavy on my heart that day and listen to him. Then I spend some time focusing on the details of why that topic weighed so heavily and how I can improve the situation.

Good luck finding something that works for you. Meditation has proven to be a very helpful part of this whole treatment process for me.