View Full Version : I just can't figure this out!!! Awake at night.

WorkAholic
11-16-11, 12:21 AM
When you first read the title you probably thought I am awake at night (by awake I mean not falling asleep in the middle of things) because I take my medication late in the day/night.

Not true. I take my meds morning/afternoon/SOMETIMES early evening. I can always sleep, always tired. But I seem to be most awake at 11pm or so. Strange. Nothing with me makes any sense though. Hopefully my new doc tomorrow can help or I'm outta luck.

Anyone have this issue?

never2late
11-16-11, 12:38 AM
I also have this issue. I looked into stuff about circadian rhythm. Im no scientist but from what i ascertained it is regarding your internal body clock. Light therapy supposedly helps to reset this internal mechanism. RIght now your "clock" is set to be awake at 11pm ( just like me). So giving yourself light therapy ( i have a light box its not a tanning device just bright light) when you first wake up tells your body to produce whatever NT earlier than they are (when you body is "awake" at 11 PM). It has something to do with melatonin i think. Like I said I am not an expert, but from my searchings on my own issues this is what I have concluded. On the other hand, I have also read alot of posts about the wonders of trazodone as a knock out device to put them down for the night. I don't know which is better, i have never tried it. I can say that I have been using the light therapy and taking klonopin at night to shut up my brain which helps me fall asleep. I also noticed that when I eat breakfast next to my light box, I find that I have an easier time initiating my homework, which I do right afterward (Im back in college). I hope this helps you figure yourself out. Good luck.

never2late
11-16-11, 12:41 AM