View Full Version : I think I might have ADHD, but I don't know what to do about it

KnuckleC
01-30-12, 06:49 PM
Hey guys,

I'm 22 years old and I'm in my second semester of grad school, and I fairly certain that I have ADHD. For the life of me, I can't focus during class, even when it's a subject that I really like or that I'm really interested in. I try to take notes or listen to professors and within a couple minutes my brain is off in a completely different place, and i'm drawing nonsense in my notebook. Every semester I buy a new 5 subject notebook with the intent of using it, taking notes, making this semester different than all the others. And every semester that doesn't happen. Writing papers for me is the worst. I always have the intention of writing the paper a couple weeks beforehand, just getting it over with. And then without fail, I'm sitting there at 3am, a few hours before its due, typing furiously on the computer because everytime I tried to write the damn paper I couldn't get my brain to focus.

THis is the same reason I never handed in HW in high school. I would either forget, or I just couldn't get myself to sit down and do it. By the end of 11th grade, I started copying HW just so that I didn't have too hear it from my parents or my teachers anymore. Beyond that, I can never seem to sit still, and my brain is constantly jumping all over the place. This is especially obnoxious when it's the middle of the night and I just want to go to bed. I have a really quick temper too, and I am really easy to anger or frustrate. And when I get frustrated about something, it's like everything else stops and that's all I can think about.