View Full Version : So Abilify didn't work too well

Macavity224
02-19-12, 08:58 PM
I'm on Lamictal 200mg/day and about a month ago was put on Abilify 5mg/day. Now for the first week or so, the Abilify was okay, but afterwards, I started to fall into a pretty severe depression, complete with suicide ideation, lethargy, the works. My doctor mentioned putting me on Risperodol, but I'm wondering...how does it compare with Abilify? I've always been under the impression that Abilify is "mild" when compared with similar atypical antipsychotics, but I could be wrong.

I'm just worried about getting way too sedated again. Any comments?

known_guy
02-20-12, 12:13 AM
If memory serves me right, I believe Abilify is one of the more activating of the atypical antipsychotics. Or at the very least, one of the least sedating.
I think another viable option to look into would be Geodon? I have no personal experience with either of the two but have read up on quite a bit of this.

But of course, this is just a non-professional (what do I know? :P) suggestion to look into!

Yellow
02-29-12, 07:06 AM
in my experience/ime/imho ABILIFY is DA BEST anti-psychotic/moodstabilizer (and anti-depressant/anti-anxiety) med. it is extremely mild as u said in nearly every respect, unless you are one of the people who gets overly activated/akathisia/RLS. metabolically it is the safest, s/e/side fxs are the lowest, least chance of EPS or tardive dyskensia than other antipsythoics, it works very subtly, and im just plain interested fascinated in its pharamacodynamics since no other med is like it on the market right now, though there are others that are very similar in research development.