View Full Version : My Extremes.

AiméeC
04-07-12, 08:44 AM
Hello everyone! :) I am new around here and not sure yet if I have ADD (I realised like a lightbulb switching on in my head the other night that I may have Inattentive ADD and am now researching and exploring it).

I'm a photography graduate and student of psychology, and I'd like to share my third year major project with you all that I did a couple of years ago. It was a huge experiment in self discovery for me... and only now after looking up all traits of ADD and sluggish cognitive tempo do I realise it may have links with all of this due to needing stimulative to feel alive! So I'm wondeing what other people will think...

This is the artist statement I originally wrote for it,

My work focuses on the ‘extremes’ I thrive on and put myself through in my personal life as well as in my creative life. I have found anything extreme makes me feel more connected to the world, more intense, more sexual, spiritual and more creative. These extremes can be as simple as turning the water in the shower to freezing cold and seeing how long I can stand it even when my instincts scream, to staying awake all night so that I get in a kind of creative strange head space... to sexual experimentation. I like anything that breaks my boundaries.

By exploring my extremes through the camera I hope to let others have a glimpse of a world they haven’t understood before, that of sexual experimentation and opening your mind and body up to new experiences.

My work is autobiographical as I am working through habits I’ve always taken for granted, odd private habits I want to explore so that a transformation can take place... “Transformation of turning an uneventful private, perhaps secretive event in one’s life into something with intimate significant that affects others when looked upon.”