View Full Version : What tools, apart from ADHD medicine, have helped you?

FlutteryPixie
05-15-12, 01:45 PM
I'm interested in knowing what kind of tools you've tried that have actually worked, wether they are electronics, kitchen tools, relaxation aids, other types of medication or programmes/lectures?

Sometimes, the weirdest things pop up that actually help, and it's hard to know about them unless you're fortunate enough to stumble upon them. In my case, I used to work as a receptionist/secretary/archivist/exam coordinator at an upper secondary school where they built a sensory room, and I was given the task of ordering the various items they were using. The one that was the hardest to find and order was the ball blanket. Thus, I had to do a bit of research and discovered that these strange duvets have proven to be effective for people with ADHD and dyspraxia.

When I got diagnosed with ADHD, I decided to ask the governement for a ball blanket as an aid, and I was granted a test a couple of weeks ago. The ball blanket arrived, and I noted that it was the type with tiny polysterine balls rather than larger, plastic balls. Technically, the plastic balls are more effective for sensory development, clumsiness and hyperactivity, but the lighter, less stimulating polysterine ball blanket does have some of the same qualities.

The first time I pulled it over me, it felt like a fantastic, fluffy, thick, wonderful duvet. It was heavy, and when I moved my limbs around the little soft beads shifted and created a cocoon around me. I could really feel myself. It was fantastic how I stopped moving around, and as my body calmed down, my breath calmed down. As my breath calmed down, my pulse calmed down, and with my calmer pulse, my thoughts calmed down. They stopped racing and shifting and the chaos cleared a little, as I lay there. It was as if I was suddenly "allowed" to relax, to calm down, take a step back and out of the bubble of chaos that is me.