View Full Version : Focalin & Long Term Use Headaches

LauraF915
05-22-12, 09:21 PM
I've seen people posting about getting headaches when they first started using Focalin, but I have a slightly different issue. I've been using Focalin (successfully) for 5-6 years now and only recently developed headaches.

In the last 3-4 months, I've developed really bad headaches (daily), along the lines of what others are describing. I feel like my head is in a vice with pressure at my temples. It's to the point where my work is being impacted by these headaches.

I didn't get these when I first started Focalin and I haven't changed my dose. There also haven't been any other major changes in my life when the headaches started.

I've tried lots of things (upping my water intake, cutting caffeine (and waiting for 3-4 weeks to make sure it wasn't caffeine withdrawals), got my eyes checked, took a break from the Focalin, etc.) all to no avail. I'm wondering if any of you have had experiences with developing headaches after long term use of Focalin. I've tried most of the other medicines out there at some point and Focalin has been the most successful for me (with the least side effects until recently) and so I would like to stick with it if possible...

I have talked to my doctor about this issue and have been referred to a neurologist, but as most of you know, it's often better to walk into an appointment well informed.

Thanks all!

hollywood
05-22-12, 09:51 PM
You live in va? It's allergies.

sarahsweets
05-23-12, 05:03 AM
Honestly, I would look into another medical reason because to my understanding, side effects dont necessarily pop up like that. Hubby is adhd and suffered for years with random extreme headaches. Turns out, after a sleep study, they determined he is narcoleptic.

LauraF915
05-23-12, 07:06 AM
You live in va? It's allergies.