View Full Version : Can't think, can't focus, can't get motivated.

justtim
07-11-12, 11:42 AM
Hey everyone,

Newbie here, found this site via Google.

About 5 years ago I was diagnosed with Adult ADHD and was prescribed Adderall. I took it for about 6 months then quit. The reason being is I started taking it as a suggestion from my therapist during marriage counseling and when my wife and I finally split I tossed it saying I didn't need that crap. Well, a few years later and I really think it helped me.

However, I have a different PCP doctor, therapist and psychiatrist and due to my weight my psychiatrist will not prescribe me any stimulants. I am taking Wellbutrin and Prozac and they've helped a lot with my mood, however my focus and motivation are still damn near non-existent. It's really getting to be a problem as it effects me at work tremendously.

My therapist has suggested strategies to get help - setting timers and working in small chunks with a "reward" as I complete them, making lists (which I already do) and making sure to follow a schedule. It's not helped much. When I try to think it feels like a radio station as your driving out of it's coverage area and another station is bleeding over, I can hear there are different songs playing but can't make out either one enough to do anything with it. However it sometimes feels like I've got half a dozen stations playing at the same time.

I just saw ADD-i mentioned on the forum, I had never heard of that before today, that sounds like me... I think.

Can anyone recommend any methods, tips, tricks, natural remedies that might help me with this? It's really frustrating. After a few tough years I feel like I'm getting my life back on track but I just can't seem to beat this one piece, unfortunately this one piece effects everything else I try to do. Any help is appreciated.

Tim

markadd
07-11-12, 12:11 PM