View Full Version : Advice Please...5 year old, K placement...not working.

OhBoy3
10-17-12, 02:00 PM
Hi,

This is my first time posting but I am sure it won't be my last. I am the Mom of 3 boys ages 8, almost 7 and 5. Within the past year all were diagnosed with ADHD the last being my oldest who was diagnosed 2 weeks ago. I have lots of questions about lots of things but at this point in time it is my Kindergartener who keeps me up at night with worry. Here goes....

He has had one year of preschool. Evaluations for him started in Oct of last year and by Jan had an IEP getting every service and Going to school five days a week 5 hours each day. He did OK but obviously had issues with impulsivity and distractibility. We live in NY so at the end of the year I learned he would need to start Kindergarten to continue to receive services. Not my choice but I understood...he needs services. I made it clear I would want him to repeat K. We all agreed and then Sept came. Our district has 1/2 K but since he has an IEP he goes full day. He gets on the bus at 8 his morning class is 6 students 1 teacher, 1 aide. He gets all his services in the morning. There is about a one hour 15 minute break for lunch/recess before the afternoon session starts. He then goes to an intergrated co-taught class. 21 kids, 1 regular teacher, 1 spec ed, 1 aide. He gets off the bus at 3:30 and has homework from the regular class.

This is the problem....