View Full Version : Need general advice dealing with bipolar (ex) bf

demfabbones
12-03-12, 12:49 PM
Hello everyone,

I've been reading up on bipolar disorder but I'm still very new to it, so pardon my ignorance. I've been with my boyfriend for about 6 months. He has been diagnosed as bipolar (but I don't remember when - before we were dating.) He is NOT medicated. While we've been dating, he has had what I've taken to calling "episodes" though they may not be episodes in the medical sense of the word. An episode typically starts out as a conversation or argument. My boyfriend will get more and more upset until he is yelling and screaming. These rants are usually connected to the dysfunctional way he was brought up. (He was abused as a child.) The episode at its mildest is just ranting (though the things he says can be disturbing and he seems out of control.) At its worst, he has done things like threatened suicide, thrown my things outside his house (we were having an argument that time, obviously), and gotten in his car and driven like a maniac even though he'd been drinking.

There were 4 episodes during the first 5 months we were dating. After the suicide episode, roughly 5 weeks ago, he realized that each of these episodes had been brought on by drinking. He vowed to stop, and he he made an appointment with a psychiatrist (or psychologist, I'm not sure) He did stop drinking. Since that time, he's been in what I'd call "limbo" - he's having trouble finding a job and has been getting progressively more depressed about it. He's a hardworking and social person and sitting at home all day is not his thing.

Fast forward to the fifth and most recent episode: