View Full Version : Crossfit was made for people with ADHD!

TheNarrator
01-31-13, 06:24 PM
If you have never heard of or tried CrossFit you need to check it out. I is Constantly Varied (which is perfect for ADHD) highly intense (also perfect) functional movement. Look around your area for a CrossFit gym, the best workout ever and it's fun! Something you can get obsessed about!

www . crossfit . com or goto the map to find a gym (affiliate) near you!

I am a crossfit coach and I have ADHD! (just found out 2 weeks ago) :)

dvdnvwls
01-31-13, 06:56 PM
I am pudgy and mid-40s with a plentiful lack of exercise. Will I fit right in, or do I need to do some pre-training to go to something like this?

Footsore Ramble
01-31-13, 07:05 PM
Yeah, I've always thought crossfit sounded fun b/c of the variety involved. I might give it a try once I finish the weight training program I am currently doing. I have always wanted to learn how to do Olympic lifts!

ana futura
01-31-13, 10:49 PM
As someone who has permanent injuries from over-exertion, I think cross fit is actually an awful fit for people with ADHD. I really don't know my limits, and I frequently push myself too far. In an environment like Crossfit, an attitude like mine can lead to serious injury.

I do best and stay healthiest in a very structured workout routine. Crossfit is as unstructured as can be.

Of course not everyone with ADHD is as undisciplined as I am. If you have a solid athletic background, are responsible, and know what you're doing, then I could see how Crossfit would be awesome.

I am pudgy and mid-40s with a plentiful lack of exercise. Will I fit right in, or do I need to do some pre-training to go to something like this?

It depends on the cross fit studio, but I really would not recommend it. You need to learn proper technique for lifting first. If you trust yourself to take it easy, not get competitive, and ask a lot of questions, then you might do okay.