View Full Version : Elementary teachers with ADD

teachergal
02-25-13, 01:04 AM
I am a first grade teacher fumbling through life with adult ADD. I was diagnosed at age 6, and since then I have been on many different things, but Adderall seems to be the only one that has been really effective. It helps me to concentrate, but sometimes I feel like a slave to it. I don't like the feeling that I can't function without a stimulant. For this reason I have started to wean myself off of my 20 mg dose down to a 10. Its going alright, its been about a whole year at that dose, and I am doing okay (but not amazing).

I guess I should say that recently I tried switching from 10 mg of Adderall to 450 mg of Wellbutren. The Adderall was working alright, but I just don't want to feel like I NEED stimulants. I want to eventually get off of everything. This worked for (kindof... off and on) for a week or two, then I was shot into the worst mental fog of my life! Now I'm on 20 mg of Adderall. Nowadays my Adderall seems to fluctuate in its effectiveness. Some days I have no motivation, other days I'm back in the fog... Some days it works, but since I'm back on a stimulant I'm all jittery and anxious.