View Full Version : Cymbalta Effexor or prozac

hollywood
03-18-13, 10:34 PM
These all world for me and I cannot recall which one has the best result . What's the main anectodal effect difference between the 3? Regarding fatigue , energizing effect and most helpful for social anxiety

hollywood
03-19-13, 03:38 PM
Hello Effexor , Prozac, cymbalta main differences

Piper30
03-19-13, 07:41 PM
Okay well I posted the side effects which I am sure you already know or could have found yourself. Still, at least they are all in one place so you can compare : ) The following is based off my personal experience and knowledge .. I am not a doctor, nor am I that bright so take it for what it is worth :)

Energy-Cymbalta usually will give you a bit of a boost but short lived and fatigue follows or even comes before you get to the energy. I would say Cymbalta rates the lowest for energy.
Prozac is one up from Cymbalta.. depending on the person and other meds of course. Effexor from what I know (again depending on other conditions/meds) would be the winner in the energy category.

Social anxiety-Tie between Prozac and Effexor ... if I have to pick Prozac wins.

Personal opinion...Cymbalta has some serious serous side effects. I have never run into a grey area with that med. Either it works wonders for someone, or it is the worst experience of their life. Coming off the med is pure hell ... in fact I was convinced I was in hell. I would think if it was a wonder med for you it would be hard to forget that. :)

Prozac is given sometimes to help with the withdrawals from Cymbalta, eases the symptoms while giving you that energy you need. In the end I say Prozac wins ... again that is just my uneducated opinion. Though only fair to mention Prozac will take longer to "kick in" and get going in your body. Effexor is much quicker due to the fact it is dual acting.

Ok that is my two or three cents ... good luck :)

The most common side effects:
Venlafaxine (Effexor)Duloxetine (Cymbalta)