View Full Version : Undiagnosed ADD boy, homeschooled

keytones_dmtf
05-09-13, 11:21 AM
Hi all,

I'm a homeschool tutor (learning coach) for a 9-year-old boy with undiagnosed, unmedicated ADD. I worked in a boarding school as a teacher and dorm supervisor, and I also dated a man with ADD, so I'm pretty sure that he has it.

Right now I'm working on fractions/decimals with my student. We are using K12 and he is in 5th grade math because he's pretty advanced mathematically. He completed 3rd and 4th grade math (at a bit of a rush) with his parents.

There are several problems I'm facing, but the main ones are these:

1. When my student is under pressure, he can do even the most complicated math problems correctly and quickly without argument. But when he’s given any opportunity to relax, he starts getting distracted, and he loses track of the problem by thinking of something else like snack time (this happens a lot). It takes him so much energy to focus that he actually loses track of what he’s supposed to be focusing on. In short: he does know how to do the work, but he can't focus on it long enough to complete it.

2. Because of #1, my student refuses to admit that he's wrong even when he's made a fundamental error. I think he likely makes mistakes because he gets distracted. However, he doesn't want to admit that he's been distracted (maybe fearing a punishment of some sort?) so he instead chooses to insist that he's right. He chooses not to listen to me when I explain how to correct the error or why the error is an error. This leads him to getting punished more (by his parents) for disrespecting his teacher.

It's a vicious cycle. I'm trying to figure out what to do with it, because the student is going to lose the will to learn if he hasn't already. He's a smart kid, but he's extremely stubborn and won't acknowledge that he can a)make mistakes just like everyone else and b) he gets distracted and forgets what he's doing.

Any tips? I'm at the end of my rope here.