View Full Version : Looking for a new p-doc

BlackWarrior
06-09-13, 02:09 AM
I've been seeing my psychiatrist for about 3 months now. I was diagnosed with ADHD combined type along with major depression a little over half a year ago. I'm a 21 year old student.

My Rx is adderall 20mg ir 3x a day and wellbutrin 300xl. The wellbutrin was counterproductive in a way, sure it helped me with my focus but it gave me a horrible brain fog and didn't really help my depression. I felt like it even made more depressed.

Now, I talked to my p-doc about increasing my dosage for adderall and trying a new antidepressant or anything to help with the depression & fatigue. I build tolerance to stimulants rather quickly and 60mg a day just wasn't covering my day since I'm a student. I spend 12 hours a day at school and by the time I'm home I spend a few more hours to study/do homework. The adderall is only covering around 9 hours. He recommends that I switch to XR but I've already tried that. It would only last about 1.5x longer and at that low of a dose, it wouldn't even help relieve my symptoms. He says that 60mg is the highest he would go. It might be because I'm a student that he is hesitant to prescribe more than the "recommended" dosage.

Also, the wellbutrin gave me such a bad brain fog I stopped taking it (with my doctors instructions) he said I should taper down but I quit cold-turkey and was completely fine. He says that I should try it for a bit longer but I'm getting impatient (a strong symptom of my add). But as a student the brain fog will hurt my grades, and it already has. My poor grades is part of the reason I'm depressed so wellbutrin is practically adding to my depression.