View Full Version : "What is Emotional Intelligence?"

mildadhd
06-13-13, 12:50 PM
This thread is meant for members who are interested in discussing and learning about:

ADD and Emotional Intelligence: Examining emotional intelligence and neurological disorders.

I am only beginning to learn what emotional intelligence is.

As a layman,

I found this link information and layout, a extremely helpful start.

(I am not specifically familiar with Plato, the link's author, history, or references)

Opinions Appreciated

http://psychology.about.com/od/personalitydevelopment/a/emotionalintell.htm

"All learning has an emotional base."
-- Plato

What is Emotional Intelligence?

Emotional intelligence (EI) refers to the ability to perceive, control and evaluate emotions. Some researchers suggest that emotional intelligence can be learned and strengthened, while others claim it is an inborn characteristic.

Since 1990, Peter Salovey and John D. Mayer have been the leading researchers on emotional intelligence. In their influential article "Emotional Intelligence," they defined emotional intelligence as, "the subset of social intelligence that involves the ability to monitor one's own and others' feelings and emotions, to discriminate among them and to use this information to guide one's thinking and actions" (1990).

The Four Branches of Emotional Intelligence

Salovey and Mayer proposed a model that identified four different factors of emotional intelligence: the perception of emotion, the ability reason using emotions, the ability to understand emotion and the ability to manage emotions.

Perceiving Emotions: The first step in understanding emotions is to accurately perceive them. In many cases, this might involve understanding nonverbal signals such as body language and facial expressions.