View Full Version : 7 Things Teachers Would Like Their Students with ADD/ADHD (and their parents) to Know

astronomyjunkie
06-30-13, 05:37 PM
<!--[if gte mso 9]><xml> <w:WordDocument> <w:View>Normal</w:View> <w:Zoom>0</w:Zoom> <w:Compatibility> <w:BreakWrappedTables/> <w:SnapToGridInCell/> <w:ApplyBreakingRules/> <w:WrapTextWithPunct/> <w:UseAsianBreakRules/> </w:Compatibility> <w:BrowserLevel>MicrosoftInternetExplorer4</w:BrowserLevel> </w:WordDocument> </xml><![endif]--> Disclaimer: I don't claim to speak for all teachers, but, seeing as how I live on both sides of the fence (I'm a middle school teacher with ADHD) I thought this list might give ADHD Students and parents some useful insight.

SEVEN THINGS TEACHERS WANT THEIR STUDENTS WITH ADD/ADHD (and their parents) to KNOW

1. Don't assume your teachers donít know the facts about ADHD. As a teacher, I am required to attend all kinds of courses, workshops, and meetings about kids with learning disabilities. I am given a copy of "12 Things High School Students With ADD/ADHD Want Their Teachers to Know" or something like it at least once a semester! (As you can imagine, this is gets especially redundant for teachers who happen to have the condition themselves.) While I appreciate your efforts to help me help you, I donít need an exhaustive list of facts, statistics, websites, and articles that I am already familiar with. Our time together would be much better spent talking about how I can help YOU.