View Full Version : Love/hate relationships with a dosette

MonaLisaSimpson
07-04-13, 02:10 AM
Ugh ugh ugh ugh.

I am a nurse. I started filling people's dosettes when I worked as a home care aide in nursing school. I filled my Grandfather's as he was dying of liver disease. I filled them as a nurse, for patients, and families , including my dad when he was on a complex medication regimen after open heart surgery.

A few months ago I decided I had to get serious about taking my iron pills along with my anti depressant, and also wanted to start taking other vitamins.

I used a colour coded bead container thing, that I could take apart and reassemble. I could put my big morning vitamin in it, as well as my night iron and SSRI. Then came my sleeping pill. Then I decided I had better start taking my vitamin d. Then garlic capsules, now Omega 3 and ... well they haven't fit for a while so I have been doing a morning container a night one a morning, a night etc etc. Problem is, this gives me about 3 1/2 days of poured pills. Now with the Dexedrine several times a day and all I can't keep up. I am going to have to buy a big old geriatric contraption. All the funky things I have thought of are not going to work. I even tried ice cube trays, but the only ones I have with lids are very much needed in my freeezer. No lid defeats the purpose.

I am extremely annoyed about it, but I know that if I don't I will forget something. Making a list and taking the right ones every morning will not work, the only thing that works is making sure my day is empty.

Does anyone else have any ideas for a dosette that doesn't suck, or make me feel like a member of the geriatric set. With the Omega 3's which are huge I can't use tiny pillboxes anymore...

CurlyHairedGirl
07-07-13, 11:21 PM