View Full Version : Clinical applications of mindfulness: Primitive reflexes

Kunga Dorji
08-10-13, 02:17 AM
I have been practicing a number of mindfulness techniques for several years now.

The main techniques have been
1) Single pointed focus
2) Body scanning techniques
3) Training in equanimity, and the skill of observing negative body sensation to the point of extinction.
4) Compassion and loving kindness meditation.

This has been coupled with ongoing study of the issues of intuitive empathy and the functioning of mirror neurones, and the application of yoga and martial arts to movement integration.

Noneof this would have been possible without a treatment on an injury in my upper cervical spine. Prior to that single treatment I used to become drowsy and unbalanced when I attempted to meditate.

Subsequent assessment has revealed a degree of brainstem injury secondary to the original neck injury- which had left me with a deranged and over-reactive stress response ever since my infancy.

One of the effects of this training is that I have become much more acutely aware of my own body.

Like many ADDers I used to fidget, especially with foot tapping and had issues with restless legs at night.

As my mindfulness training progressed, and I sought treatment for my residual neck and back pain, I became aware that whenever my feet felt fidgety, the muscles in the anterior compartment of my lower legs (responsible for lifting my toes and ankles) were tender to the touch, with multiple trigger points, but that tenderness did not translate to a conscious sensation of pain in those muscles.

At about that time I attended a workshop with prof Marco Iacobone , an expert on mirror neurones.

Soon after that I became aware that the effect of being in the presence of other restless, fidgety people, was that it made me feel uncomfortable and restless myself. I also became aware that that feeling was entirely predictable given the known properties of the mirror neurone system.