View Full Version : For the Chemically Dependent ADD'ers.

mrc711
08-29-13, 10:28 AM
I was first prescribed ADHD medication when I was 14. I have a history of opiate abuse from age 16-19. During that time, I was not treating my ADHD. When I went to treatment it was a counselor at the facility where I was a resident that convinced me to start back up on Adderall for my ADHD. This was something that not only confused me, but was also extremely unsettling. I felt like I was being put in a situation where I would need to rely on drugs to perform simple daily tasks (which is exactly what I was doing before when I was illicitly using). My first month was absolutely terrible for one reason - I had convinced myself that I was cheating in my recovery, and that I was cheating myself out of being a normal functioning member of society.

I decided to drop the medication up until this last month, when I actively perused obtaining my previous treatment. I am two years abstinent from all things besides my ADHD meds, and caffine. This time around I feel like I am benefiting greatly from Adderall mentally, and I feel I am in a much better spiritual condition in comparison to 2 years ago.

If there's one thing I can suggest to anyone who is dual-diagnosis ADHD/Chemically Dependent it's this - Just remember as people with ADHD, the drugs we take play a vital part in us being able to perform the next right step towards becoming successful and productive members of society. If anyone has felt guilty about taking their prescription know that you're not alone, and just remember how difficult it is to avoid acting on impulse when you're without it.

There's no shame in taking action that will allow you to be the person you're capable of being.

Stevuke79
08-29-13, 01:38 PM
It's so true, and it's so easy to miss. The buzz, and the fundamental effect of adderall are two completely different things. A steady, non-increasing dose bears no resemblance to a drug problem.

Nate W