View Full Version : Am I an Aspie?

SpartanWoman
09-01-13, 04:22 AM
I'm not asking for a diagnosis, but I'd like some opinions. :confused:

Something has missing from my current diagnosis, and with new information that I'm just learning (my mom and dad both have aspergers), AND an autistic friend of mine pointing out my aspie traits.... I'm starting to clue in to what that might be. I'll be talking with my p-doc soon.

Right now, I'm diagnosed with ADHD, Bipolar, and Borderline Personality Disorder. Although there's a lot with Borderline that just doesn't fit (I don't drink or do drugs or sleep around or lie, like... ever).

Thanks to my hubby, I now know that I do certain things (like not know when I'm boring people, etc) ha! I'm an adult, so I've learned coping skills. I'm very artistic and creative, but also very left-brained about it at the same time. I can be very social or very not. Usually I love everyone and want hugs! Unless I'm in a paranoid mood, depressed, over-sensitized, or (like now) over-worrying about how I come across to people.

Aside from the ADHD and Bipolar issues, here's what's up:

When I was a kid:
- Didn't cry after being born and put in the nursery
- Sleep in the day, awake at night
- Only needed slight touch to stop crying, after that
- Started speaking early
- Would spend a lot of enjoyable time sorting little objects/collections
- Would freak out if my toy/nicknack displays where moved out of their certain, symmetrical patterns.
- Went through training to make prolonged eye contact
- Wore a button to tell people if I was happy or sad

Then and now:
- Special interests that are all-encompassing and I can't stop myself from researching them usually go on and on and on and.....
- Learn best when all senses are involved, and I can see/do/touch
- Poor personal hygiene
- Want to eat the same foods over and over
- Same with clothes
- Taking things literally (can usually identify both "meanings", now)