View Full Version : Got Myself Into a Horrible Situation

AdderallFiend
09-24-13, 07:33 PM
College has really changed my life. I performed extremely well on the SAT, and my GPA in high school was pretty good (although I felt like an underachiever because of motivation issues). But once college began I really let myself slide. The lack of structure hurt me, especially since my school does not require attendance in most lectures. I barely attended class, and eventually began to abuse Adderall in order to focus on important schoolwork. I took the pill probably 15 times between the months of February and May at 20 or 30 mg each time.

One month after the semester ended, I began experiencing depression. The summer was horrible - I felt absolutely no motivation, was tired all the time and couldn't enjoy anything, even Runescape (videogame that I've been playing for 7 years and always made me happy). Then school started and I was hoping that my antidepressant would kick in and I would be motivated enough to get out of bed and go to class. But it did not work and I felt as depressed and hopeless as ever, so I began investigating the possibility of ADHD. This made sense to me and my therapist agreed that it was possible, so she referred me to the best psychiatrist she knew. He diagnosed me with ADD and recommended that I take this semester off to get myself in a better place. He does not take insurance and it cost quite a fortune so I trust him on his diagnosis (also he seemed like a total genius from talking to him).