View Full Version : First Day on Wellbutrin and Adderall XR

Jsamples
09-29-13, 09:50 AM
Hey all,

This is my very first post on the forums! I was diagnosed as having ADHD-PI roughly 11 months ago. After some trial and error dosing, I have been on Adderall XR for about the past 8 months.

I'm currently a third year university student and have never been busier! The Adderall has helped me overcome so many of the bumps in the road that I otherwise would have thought impossible to do. Despite all the therapeutic benefit I have received from the amphetamines, I also have realized its downfalls with more long-term use: tolerance, dependency, etc.

I talked to my primary care about switching to a non-stimulant and gradually reducing my Adderall dose; we decided on Wellbutrin. I am currently prescribed the regular, instant-release formula of Wellbutrin at 75mg, with 1 tablet taken once daily.

Yesterday was my very first day taking it - alongside 20mg Adderall XR - and I perceived some immediate benefits after about 1.5 hours: my attention increased, my mood improved, and I felt a bit better overall. However, I hit a wall and crashed after 5 hours. I later read through the drug's prescribing info and found that the instant-release formula should be taken 3 times daily - I am only taking one pill, one time daily.

Overall, my question is this: Does my initial dose of Wellbutrin seem a bit low to some people? I would much rather be on the SR or XL formulas for stability.

Also, if anyone has personal experiences with Wellbutrin, Adderall XR, or the combination of the two, PLEASE SHARE! :D

Sorry for the long post!

Cheers,
Jake

Jsamples
09-29-13, 07:00 PM
Update: Today is Day 2 on Wellbutrin, which I took in the morning along with my 20mg Adderall XR. I experienced the same afternoon "crash" as I did yesterday: my mood, energy, and attentiveness dropped significantly. Is this normal when starting on Wellbutrin, or could it be the dose that I'm on? How long will this last?