View Full Version : Zoloft amplifies my AD(H)D

hetware
10-05-13, 11:20 AM
After losing the best job I've ever had, I fell into a deep depression. I let my psychiatrist talk me into taking Zoloft. Now I sleep at least 12 hours a day, have very little motivation, and cannot focus on any kind of intellectual tasks such as solving introductory calculus problems. (I have a degree in computer science, and most of the credits for a degree in math.)

I started taking 25 mg of Zoloft per day, and didn't notice much of a problem. When she bumped me up to 50 mg per day, I started feeling lackadaisical and lethargic. She suggested that this would pass, and bumped me up to 75 mg per day.

Now I feel like I'm swimming in a fog worse than when I don't take my ADHD medications. All the dextrostat does for me now is to make me marginally functional.

Has anybody had this reaction to Zoloft?

Will this lethargy pass after I get used to the medication?

Should I be taking an SSRI if I have real existential reasons for being depressed?

purpleToes
10-05-13, 11:59 AM
After losing the best job I've ever had, I fell into a deep depression. I let my psychiatrist talk me into taking Zoloft. Now I sleep at least 12 hours a day, have very little motivation, and cannot focus on any kind of intellectual tasks such as solving introductory calculus problems. (I have a degree in computer science, and most of the credits for a degree in math.)

I started taking 25 mg of Zoloft per day, and didn't notice much of a problem. When she bumped me up to 50 mg per day, I started feeling lackadaisical and lethargic. She suggested that this would pass, and bumped me up to 75 mg per day.

Now I feel like I'm swimming in a fog worse than when I don't take my ADHD medications. All the dextrostat does for me now is to make me marginally functional.

Has anybody had this reaction to Zoloft?

Will this lethargy pass after I get used to the medication?