View Full Version : ADHD and Misophonia?

hattz19
10-20-13, 12:43 AM
So, basically I'm in a state of being pretty ****** off right now...

I was diagnosed with ADHD in July, mainly inattentive, and was prescribed Adderall. Took it originally, it worked really well, then I had a panic attack. Stopped taking it, began back up when classes began in September, I'm a college student. It never worked- I played around with doses, diet, etc, nothing helped. Don't get me wrong, many times it certainly helped, but other times I was sent to the ER because I was so anxious that I began shaking uncontrollably.

Then I did some research and found out about misophonia. Wow, was my mind blown. As a kid I always used to tell my mom and dad "don't breathe loud." Background talking through my wall is driving me mad, I can't focus... as do the subwoofers or even footsteps of the neighbors that live above me. I'm a dedicated student- on weekdays it's kind of forced that I wake up, but on weekends I'll try to wake up on time, which with ADHD is hard to do, eat something, take my medication and go to study. Before, I couldn't focus on anything AND sounds drove me nuts. When originally began taking the adderall, it helped a lot, then I had a panic attack, stopped, and it hasn't been the same since. I kept telling my psych about how little sounds bothered me, but basically thought that was a part of ADD. However, I was quite wrong...

This has happened MANY times, and I've only been medicated/taking medications for a combined period of maybe 1.5 months, but today is simply an example, here is an example of what has occurred many times prior to being diagnosed:

-Noon: Wake up
-12:45: Go to library
-1:10: Have everything organized, ready to go, open book, begin reading
-1:15: Start looking around, getting distracted (ADD)
-1:20: Try reading, can't focus.
-1:25: Check my iPhone
-1:30: "That kid is breathing DAMN loud I hate him."