View Full Version : Studying with background noises, medication isn't helping

hattz19
10-31-13, 07:58 PM
I was diagnosed with ADHD in July, and the process has been so aggravating. I’m a college student taking 22.5 units this quarter, and my medication has been so hit or miss. Originally, after titrating up by 5mg every two days on Adderall IR (5-10-15-20) in an attempt to five my dose, I thought 15mg was it, until I had a panic attack on the second day of taking it in the middle of studying.

So, I decided to drop my summer classes without a “W” and enjoy my summer. I have a 3.96 GPA and wanted to get two classes out of the way, but that wasn’t going to work if I couldn’t focus. I’m taking 22.5 units this quarter, and it’s been hectic, especially with the seemingly ineffective solution to my problem.

Doses have sometimes given me panic attacks, forcing me to go to the ER and giving chest pain. My PCP said this is anxiety and to titrate up again starting at 10mg to gie the dosage one last shot beginning on Monday. Here’s what I noticed this week: Monday and Tuesday were bad. I had withdrawal since 10mg was basically useless especially at one dose.

Yesterday was ok with the 15mg but probably the same since the level of work is harder today. For instance, today I took 15mg at 12, kicks in around 12:30 according to psych, and it wears off by 3:30. I am currently at my car dealership getting my car serviced and am trying to focus on reading an article on California’s economy for a GE speech class. I’ve had this article opened the whole time I’ve been here and can’t go for even a paragraph without either looking around or being distracted.