View Full Version : anyone know anything about green tea?

sarahsweets
11-06-13, 05:46 AM
I dont mean as a treatment for adhd but for health reasons. I was considering trying to add a cup to my day, Ive read some stuff about antioxidents etc but I am a real novice with this one.

stef
11-06-13, 06:55 AM
I've read that it actually has a lot of caffeine (or the equivalent of caffeine that's found in tea), so if you already drink coffee...
Ugh I don't know I really dislike the taste of tea in the first place!

Fuzzy12
11-06-13, 06:59 AM
It's supposed to be super healthy. Full of antioxidants. I tried really hard getting used to drinking it but it just tastes too bad. :(

purpleToes
11-06-13, 07:10 AM
I drink green tea!

When I started stimulants, I was drinking coffee every day and the together with the stimulants I was feeling too wired. My therapist suggested switching to green tea and it was an immediate improvement.

I found it gives me almost as much of a lift as coffee, but in a mellower way. It has much less caffeine, and the theanine in it has some calming effect that balances the caffeine nicely. I understand there's a bunch of other good things in it for you, but to be honest I didn't research the details too much and just considered them a bonus.

Green tea will have more caffeine the hotter the water you brew it with. For the "best" flavor, you're supposed to use water a few degrees cooler than boiling and brew it for only two or three minutes to get bring out its delicate flavors, but I guess I do it all wrong; I use boiling water and often leave the tea bag in until I'm done drinking it. Don't follow my poor example :)

I mostly avoid caffeine now; if I want coffee, I treat myself to a Starbucks instant decaf, and if I want an energy boost, I usually go for the green tea.

I have tried a few different brands and I'm beginning to develop preferences, but I'm still a long way off from being a green tea snob. I think you will love it!

purpleToes