View Full Version : A Newbie

willow129
11-28-13, 02:02 PM
Helloo...
I'm a newbie! I wanted to lurk a little around this forum and see what I can find out...but I thought I'd just say hello first :)

I don't know if I have ADD/ADHD, but I have had panic attacks on and off since I was 18 (I'm 24 now) and anxiety and such. I go to counseling but I have never had the guts to bring it up to my therapist. But all of my close friends except my boyfriend have ADD/ADHD (weird?), and they have brought up to me, separately from each other, that maybe I have it too. My half brother has ADHD/OCD and my mom has at least OCD, so it seems like it wouldn't be crazy for me to have it.

Anywaays...anxiety and panic suck and I'm wondering if maybe it's partially from ADD/ADHD, so that's why I'm looking around here.

Ladies! I'm wondering, when were you diagnosed? What led up to your diagnosis? I feel like when I was a student in public school people didn't think about ADHD much in girls. I mean, for both of my brothers (my half brother and my whole brother), their teachers at the very least entertained the idea that maybe they had ADHD. I was struggling in school too, not as badly but definitely struggling, but no one seemed to really think...I don't know, that my troubles were anything to be concerned about I guess. I just was unorganized and needed to get organized. And maybe that's true! (Am still unorganized though.) I'm a teacher now so, I guess it's something I think about.

finallyfound10
11-28-13, 05:03 PM
Welcome!! It's harder for girls to get diagnosed than boys an I suspect that it always will be. I was a teacher for a while and shocked that I was so woefully ill informed about all of it and how many students I didn't help!

I was diagnosed when I went back to school for nursing and hit the wall with depression/anxiety/ADD-Inattentive and eventually failed out. I had previously dealt with depression after a bad break up but the other two were new diagnoses.