View Full Version : Could really use some advice

kayfishandchips
12-18-13, 01:29 AM
I know im new here, but i just found this and i really just need to unload you know, anyway
I was diagnosed with ADHD when I was about 7, im not actually sure why I was tested then but i was and they put me on adderall, at some point my mother took me off the medication because she was concerned with the side effects. I am a fairly intelligent student, and i could still do wll in classes with minimal effert so I managed to get though most of my schooling with A's and B's without any sort of treatment. When I hit high school though everything fell apart, not only was more independent study needed but it seemed like my already limited ability to focus was withering away. I started barely keeping a float in some classes. I am a senior now, and last year I tried to convince my mother to get me tested again so I could get some sort of treatment. She denied I had ever had Adhd and said "do you want to be one of those loonies?" Telling me I shouldn't use it as an excuse for me doing poor in school and I was just lazy. It hurt me a lot, I try really hard to keep things together and stay on task, but it just doesn't work, I mean I think if anyone knew whats going on in my head it would be me, and its not like i'm pulling this out of know where.
My plan right know is just to wait till college and go for treatment then, but if anyone has any better advice feel free to share. Again sorry for dumping this all out, just had to get it off my mind.

Nicksgonefishin
12-18-13, 03:34 AM
Don't wait.

dvdnvwls
12-18-13, 03:48 AM
Waiting till college means the first half of college is a mess. (I don't mean the first semester, I really mean "the first half of college", a couple of years.) Go now. Your mother is wrong. Don't argue with her - it's impossible to convince her - just go "over her head" or "around her" or whatever it takes to get things started right now.

Thales
12-23-13, 06:02 PM