View Full Version : What helps you learn?

hs_sci_teacher
12-29-13, 06:03 PM
Dear students,

I am a high school science teacher of quite a few students with AD/HD. I am here looking for advice on how to best serve my students. The "12 Things ADHD High Schoolers Want Their Teachers to Know" was extremely helpful, but now I am looking for more specific strategies that I can use to help my students.

I teach Physics and Chemistry. Please share with me specific things that a teacher did or allowed you to do that aided your learning.

Sincerely,

A concerned first year teacher

sarahsweets
12-30-13, 08:35 AM
osmosis ;)

addthree
12-30-13, 11:53 AM
Get to the point. Quickly.

Diony
12-30-13, 02:19 PM
Repetition, quick to the point, and a good animated voice maybe, will catch their attention longer.

someothertime
12-30-13, 02:28 PM
bite sized chunks with lotsa prac and colours and repetition, think sesame street with smarts...

think modes... 10-15listen, 15-25 do... etc... never talk for longer than 25minutes!

read the book 100 things every presenter needs to know about people... now, because i've teached... i know that the prep involved to create that kind of environment / lesson structure will kill you, you have to leverage existing materials where available, think outside the box...

leverage groups, leverage presentations / feedback of learnings in a non-threatening manner...

familiar modes, unpredictable structure.

p.s. kudos to you for reaching out, a teency nudge and directed question ( often non-related ) to the right students at the right time can make a lifetime of difference. be careful investing emotions, yet be on the lookout for those who need "connecting" with external support.

Stevuke79
12-30-13, 02:45 PM