View Full Version : Can there be a difference from basically the same thing? (IR 10mg v. 20mg pill)

hattz19
01-22-14, 08:42 PM
Hi all,

Last week I go back on Adderall IR after taking a one-month break due to negative effects last academic quarter. I’m in my second year of college and still did well and pulled a 3.8 GPA, but that was actually my lowest at this school that’s lower than I would’ve liked. It actually dropped my cumulative from a 3.96 to a 3.91…

The reason I took the break was because of extreme anxiety and other debilitating negative side effects from the Adderall. It was winter break anyway, so outside of some excess sleeping there wasn’t a major issue recovering.

I worked with my therapist over break and after talking things through we decided to go ahead with Prozac to combat the anxiety. However, when classes began I noticed I couldn’t do anything or focus without being medicated. Plus, the only negative side effect of the Prozac was really bad fatigue, which the Adderall combated. I was prescribed 10mg Adderall IR, I believe generic (blue pills with lower case “b” on them) and told to titrate up because of the break (5mg for two days, 10mg for two days, 15mg for two days) and over the past two days I tried 20mg which my therapist recommended and doctor approved of today.

I ran out of the 10mg and saw my doc this morning, but he actually prescribed a 20mg pill since my dose increased. So I went to the pharmacy, got the Rx filled and noticed the different color, thinking nothing of it. I took my dose, which is now 2-3 20mg/day. The difference, at least to me, was pretty evident. With two 10mg I was more alert, focused, fatigue was really reduced, and at least able to focus. On the negative side my appetite was shot and I went through my bottle quicker (I believe I understood correctly that my insurance can only prescribe a 30-day supply at a time regardless of dose.) W