View Full Version : Is this normal?

michaela23
02-20-14, 11:18 PM
Hi guys,

This is my first time posting here. My husband has ADHD and he's on medication. He has a good heart but I'm frustrated. He can't wake up, so I have to wake him up. He can't remember many of his appointments, so I have to remember them for him. He can't remember to do his chores, so I have to prompt him and re-prompt him or do them myself. I feel like I'm his parent half the time.

If that wasn't annoying enough, all he does is work, work, work. He's at the computer day and night. Completely hyperfocused. That's all he cares about.

Then, when he comes up for hair, he'll go out at 10 p.m. at night til about 1 a.m. or 2 a.m. with a friend for a drink or for a walk a couple times a week. The other times, he'll power watch some TV with me and then go back to the computer and work all night. Usually, I go to bed almost every night alone.

I feel lonely and depressed. Is this normal for an ADHD person? Why do they do this and will they ever stop?

My biggest thing is that I'm hurt he goes and has his fun with his boys instead of wanting to stay with me. He says he has to go get his energy out -- he works from home so he feels couped up and I go to bed early so he figures it makes sense. How come he doesn't get that he should be at home with his wife -- or is it going out with your guy friends twice a week normal when your married?

I told him to go out earlier but he said that's when they are available. I feel like I'm single most of the time and I don't know what to do.

Sad and Lonely

dvdnvwls
02-21-14, 03:02 AM
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

Some people might be happy to live the way you're living. You're not happy with it at all. That means you and your husband need to work out a way of living that's OK with both of you. It's wrong to force you to live in a way that's not OK with you, just as it would be wrong to force him to live in a way that's not OK with him.