View Full Version : new- need help with ADD partner

sped_mom
02-24-14, 01:22 PM
Hey all! I'm the partner of a man recently diagnosed with ADD (he's 44 and was diagnosed two years ago). I'm also a special ed teacher who works with adolescents with ADD/ADHD, among other things. I understand the fundamentals regarding the root of the disability, and I know how to deal with it from a teaching perspective, but I am absolutely at a loss with my man.

First off, let me say that I love this gifted, caring, intelligent and truely exceptional person. I want a future with him (have been dating for 1.5 years. Living together for 6 months). I understand and accept who he is. But he's losing his mind.

He works in an incredibly high stress industry. He's at a new job six months, has health insurance (which he needs for non-related health issues) and he loves his job. He loves the high stimuli, which is not uncommon. But he has no positive coping mechanisms for his stress. He brings it home to our relationship and the chaos that ensues is going to end the relationship. He is medicated, which may or may not be appropriate in dosage/medication, and has been seeing a therapist versed in ADD.