View Full Version : Choosing addictionologist pdoc over regular pdoc? I'm 101% sure I have combined add.

Jammer
03-09-14, 02:28 AM
Hi, mid 20s male. I'm no medical pro, so anything I say here is my opinion and I understand that my opinion is not legit. But really been realizing lately I probably have it. I am also considering an addictionologist psychiatrist for add, and very occasional but unfortunate and persistent substance abuse for years off-and-on. The thing is, I think I was a self-medicater. And now that I have stopped, these symptoms are really coming to light ever since about a week ago when I came across some adult add/adhd article on a site called helpguide (I always hyperfocus on the net late into the night researching and looking at stuff, (not on FB though:D)). Also, never used add meds but once. When friends got seriously addicted to the pills and into worse ****, I got scared and backed out. I was always extremely careful and they would make fun of me for only taking a little bit. When they got bad, I thought "I never wanted it to be like this, I wouldn't have been involved". I think I was just into it for the self-medication. They were more habitual. If I felt I was any more than just dabbling, I would take a good break usually 3 or 5 days. I was scared of it becoming a habit. Anyway, all those friends moved away and I can't even get stuff anymore. And it was NOT add meds, it was more on the other side of the spectrum (I am against drugs and smoking, and the whole thing, and even though I was against it, i did it. I wouldn't recommend it to anybody) I moved twice with friends but had to come back home (I think because of my potential undiagnosis). Drove my friends crazy living with me. Anyway, so they say drug abuse is more like a way out. For me, I believe it was more of a way-in. I would always plan out doing all the things that I want to do so bad but never do because of my potential add/adhd. I have very gradually and I think completely stoppe