View Full Version : How to get through pregnancy unmedicated

jlc11283
03-27-14, 04:16 AM
Hello,

I have been diagnosed with ADD for about 8 years now and take adderall. I am a 31 y/o professional. A few years back, I posted a thread regarding getting pregnant and having to stop medication. I feared I would lose my job.

Flash forward to the present. I had a son last year. I had to go off my medication while pregnant, and I was not able to keep my job. I lasted two weeks without my medication. I finally found a new job when my son was 5 months old. I am now thinking ahead to my next pregnancy, which will hopefully happen this year. I REALLY cannot afford to lose my job again.

Does anyone have any tips who has been in this in situation? I am unable to get anything done without my medication (and have trouble getting things done even with my medication). I am wondering if people have had luck with any time management methods, different foods, herbal remedies, ANYTHING.

I hate that getting pregnant means potentially being unemployed again. Financially we need my income, and more than that, the more gaps i have on my resume the harder it will be to find employment going forward. I am really hoping this time around can be different, and would appreciate any insight or advice from those who have been there. Thanks!

tryn-optmsm
03-27-14, 12:33 PM
I would LOVE to hear the answer to your question....

That said, 'remote employee' is becoming more prevalent today in mainstream careers as well. (aka work from home) Example, IBM hires project managers, engineers, pricing analysts.... of course I don't remember the % - just that its above 50%. . . 'McKinsey moms' (aka - people who worked in strategy, consulting) have a lot more temporary-project type options available, another awesome trend I very recently discovered... (aka work part-time)

off your med's - does working from home help? on your own schedule? even if apart from meetings you work from home...

jlc11283