View Full Version : Peripheral vascular sensitivity/disease/neuropathy

Captrichie
03-31-14, 11:34 AM
All comment and constructive sharing appreciated!

My new Doc calls this topic "Severe Raynaulds Disease" i.e. as a child it was diagnosed & throughout my family history. ADHD caused so many failures until Concerta first came on the market. I finished my Phd, restored my marriage. Wonderful. I needed 54 mg ( I'm 6'3", 210 lbs) and literally my life back.

SIDEWAYS MOVEMENT: In 2-3 years I developed tolerance to Concerta. Doctor changed me to Adderal ER 30 mg 2X a day instead of stopping it a few months. He was able to get an exception for the 2X the dosage approved. a few years later, I found myself with what I call severe peripferal entropy (as in degradation of my peripferal nervous system). Numbness , the feeling of wearing socks when I wasn't, hyper-sensitivity to cold, severe skin discoloration, etc. Each doctor blamed the symptoms on a different thing, but non on the long therm effect of high dose ADHD medications! Blood test after blood test (12 comprehensive panels so far), Finally , one day the FDA advised my pharmacy to add a label re: worsening Raynaulds symptoms using ADHD medications ( I believe it was Vyvanse). So I went on the internet and researched the studies referenced by the FDA. OMG! ? Why had I never check my ADHD medication? I check everything else like a hawk?

A defieciet in my attention to most important med? The one hitting my CNS every day?:(

Anyhow, I changed my Internist.

Has anyone had similar symptoms and/or experiences with Doctors who get entrenched in a single diagnosis and ignores all else? Has anyone else forgotten to look up the side effects of the ADHD medication like myself?

FlightyBird83
11-10-14, 12:20 PM