View Full Version : Epigenetics and ADHD, a simplified view

Dizfriz
03-31-14, 03:44 PM
I think a general understand of epigenetics may turn out to be important in the understanding of ADHD so I am going to discuss it a little.

Be aware that I am not an expert so this is a layman's approach to the subject and I am very open to corrections from those more knowledgeable. Also keep in mind that epigenetics is not settled science but subject to a lot of hypothesis testing. Science does not know a lot about the subject yet so anything said is somewhat tentative.

I am trying to write this in short paragraphs to help ADHDers read in short segments and I will try to make it as short as possible. This will result in some very important stuff left out. Hopefully I can address some of this down the road.

Also be aware that this is a complicated subject and I am presenting a very simplified version. Really, that is all I am capable of presenting. This stuff is complex.

A good bit of this cribbed from the book The Epigenetics Revolution by Nessa Carey. I take full responsibility for anything in this essay, anything I get wrong is not her fault.

So let us begin.

Just for the record, epigenetics generally is defined as the set of modifications to our genetic material that change the ways genes are switched on or off, but which don't alter the genes themselves. This is what the agreed on consensus opinion currently is.

It is easier to understand epigenetics using metaphors. There are several metaphors for epigenetics. Carey uses one of a script of a play

She presents the DNA genetic make up of an individual as a script of a play, Macbeth for example.

Let us look at epigenetics as the director and actors that put on the play.