View Full Version : Kindergarten & ADHD

Traci1979
04-01-14, 08:11 AM
I'm struggling and I don't know what to do! Everyone has an opinion and I listen! If you let him get pulled out, it will give him those very important building blocks for the future Or Why would they pull him out? Why not try first? Maybe with a little support in the classroom he'll be fine.

I have a Masters in Special ed & Early childhood. I can find research on both sides and I'm so confused & scared

do I hire an advocate that really has the same background as me ? I sit here and think... Think...

Stevuke79
04-01-14, 09:02 AM
My daughter in kindergarten has learning disabilities; I have had learning disabilities all my life and as a kid was in and out of special ed. Mainstream him,.. put him in special ed,.. it wont make much difference and no matter what he will be who he will be. Here is what will actually be important:

Read to him every day. Play with him every day. Talk to him every day. Engage him and teach him to think. Set up play dates; his friends will teach him tons. My daughter struggles with addition but when we're negotiating how many dolls she may take to bed and how many must be put away.. she's an arithmetical savant! I'm not worried. Those are the ways that a parent really takes responsibility for a child's education.

I don't mean to undervalue formal education, .. but I have zero doubt that my daughter learns far more about how to read during her bedtime story than she does at school. And she goes to a great school.. but I'm her dad, and it's a book she likes.. when you're 5 or 6 years old you learn everything you need just by playing.

zette93
04-01-14, 09:08 AM