View Full Version : Benzos during college?

psychological1
04-01-14, 07:58 PM
I am a freshman in college this year, and I've been on Vyvanse for 2 months now. With the stress of all of these changing things in my life, I have developed intense anxiety. My college atmosphere is incredibly competitive with academics and even socially, and I can't control my worry. The Vyvanse is definitely not the cause, as this has been going on longer than I've been on Vyvanse.

I see a psychiatrist in a week, and I would prefer to be more knowledgeable about the effects of anti-anxiety meds. I know that first-line treatment for anxiety nowadays seems to be SSRI's, but my dad has had great success on Ativan. I see so many of my dad's same symptoms in myself, so I'm wondering if this would be reasonable.

My biggest reservation with any benzo, however, is memory impairment pertaining to academics. Is it even reasonable for students to take benzos for anxiety? The quick onset and fickle nature of my anxious spells makes me think a benzo would be better than an SSRI, but not if it's at the expense of my academics.

Lastly, I would like to shift from Vyvanse to Adderall. My psychologist thinks that Adderall would be better for me because I am often unmotivated and lethargic to initiate tasks. If my psychiatrist agrees to this, would that greatly reduce him treating my anxiety at this point? Or worse yet, would he refuse to treat my ADD until my anxiety is under control? I really want this to be fixed as soon as possible, as the semester is winding down, and my hair is shedding like hell. Which causes more anxiety, which causes more shedding. It's a dangerous positive feedback loop!

Thanks for any and all help.

BellaVita
04-01-14, 08:38 PM
I took Clonazepam when in school, it didn't seem to have any memory impairment.

It's really all up to your doctor, and they are a professional so it's best to trust what they're doing.

(and of course if they suck, get a new doctor)