View Full Version : Reading Tips

thepatient
04-17-14, 01:55 PM
Hi all. Well, I've been around the forums before, but I forgot the email account attached to my username. Surprise.

Anyway, I'm looking for some help with reading tips that people have. When I read, my eyeballs just want to skip along the top of the words without fulling absorbing them. It's not as much an issue of daydreaming in the middle of the paragraph. My eyes just want to bounce ahead. They want to fast-forward without actually reading the words. It's so incredibly frustrating. The funny part is that I'm a grad student, and I have to do a lot of reading. So, I'm trying to come up with strategies to increase my reading focus. I've found that two things help: medication and meditation. I'm slowly increasing my meditation time to twenty five minutes, and it's really helping.

So, I'm wondering if other people can relate to what I'm experiencing and if anyone can offer some advice on how to try to overcome this challenge. What has helped people increase focus and assist with reading? Thank you all in advance.

FroGpants
04-17-14, 05:17 PM
I'm really bad about wanting to skip ahead when I can see the last paragraph, when it's on the same page or opposite page. The only thing that helps when it gets bad is to use an index card on each line as I read so I can't skip ahead.

When I'm really super stuck, because it's BORING, I read out loud. And take frequent breaks but always have a goal of finishing the chapter or whatever.

thepatient
04-18-14, 09:27 AM
Thanks for the reply FroGpants. It helps to know that I'm not the only one out there with this problem. I'll have to give the index card a try. I think I've tried it before and it was actually distracting to have to keep moving it:)

Tisha
04-18-14, 12:31 PM