View Full Version : Sexual Issues, Please help!

simonda
04-22-14, 05:47 PM
Hello, I am new to writing in forums but I am desperate for some advice and insight. I have been with my boyfriend with ADHD for almost 2 years and we live together. We have had several issues due to his ADHD symptoms, but he is back on medication so things have gotten a little better. One thing that hasn't changed is his avoidance to sexual intimacy. He avoids anything sexual at all costs. He has never been in a relationship until we started dating and has never had sex before. We have been to several counselors, doctors, and a sexual health therapist. The therapist ruled out child molestation and lack of attraction or different sexual orientation. My boyfriend says he gets major anxiety when anything sexual starts. He doesn't like the feeling of another person touching him that way. We have been struggling with this for over a year. I don't know what to do to help him with the anxiety so he can focus on sharing an intimate moment with me. We want to get married and have a family, but I don't see how that can happen if we cannot figure this out. Has anyone ever been in a similar situation? Do you know if this is a sensory issue...or any ideas? I love him and want to figure this out.

dvdnvwls
04-22-14, 06:34 PM
Hello, and welcome to the forum.

There are several possibilities, some of which I'm probably not aware of.

- He may have a sensory issue, as you already suggested.

- He may have an anxiety disorder comorbid with ADHD, or even no ADHD but an anxiety disorder instead.

- He may have a particular fear of some aspect of what's happening, including (potentially) fear of not knowing how or inadequacy, fear of un-planned pregnancy, or other things.

- It's clear that he doesn't like the feeling of another person touching him in a sexual way; does he enjoy the feeling of touching you in a sexual way? Does he masturbate and enjoy that?

Fuzzy12
04-22-14, 06:47 PM