View Full Version : I need advice -ADD and Adderall noob w/drug abuse history

quiladora
05-05-14, 02:24 PM
Hi. I'm new to these threads and to ADHD. I just found out that I have it and I was prescribed Adderall by my physician. I'm on 10mg 2X a day. Today should be the 4th day or 5th day I take it, but I don't think it's a good idea considering my experiences so far.

First of all, having been a recreational drug user in the past, I have never been a fan of stimulants. The high is great, but I can't deal with the come down. I would get really anxious and depressed, so I would only do them if I was drinking to help get to sleep.
So until being prescribed Adderall, the only stimulants I would take was caffeine. After too much coffee I get really sleepy and go to bed or take a nap.
Now, for my first experiences with Adderall. I took my first dose and I felt great,. I knew that I was a little high. It felt like my pupils were dilated and there was a bit of euphoria, which was nice, but a little concerning to me. I have an addictive type personality. I took my 2 10mg pills that day. My script says to take them 4-6 hours apart. That day I was staying up late to do some work, so I figured (probably WRONGLY), I would take 3 that day since I would be awake for around 18 hours. At the end of the night I did not want to got to bed. I felt so good and motivated and active.

Next day, I did the same thing, but then took an extra half. so 3.5 10mg pills.
The third day I took my pill, I really did not feel any effects. I didn't get high or feel any differently than I normally do throughout the day. As the evening wore on, I did the same as the previous two and took more than prescribed.