View Full Version : Creative Struggles - Procrastination, Distraction and the Like

OhLookABunny
06-07-14, 02:31 AM
I majored in Creative Writing in college, and also am big on the visual arts, sewing, crafting, lots of creative things. Too many, according to my neurotypical friends, and I have at times tried to narrow it down.

Creative inspiration comes and it's the best high there is. Ideas flow and form and I'm all eager to get it down on computer screen, paper, canvas, make it in fabric, sculpt it, whatever.

Then something happens - a need to attend to life's mundane business, or an unforeseen glitch - or my mind just wanders a little, then a little more . . .

One of my habitual and counterproductive coping mechanisms is to go out in search of more "gear" - research books for the writing, art supplies, fabric, etc. This makes me feel like I'm doing something to keep the inspiration flowing, but really it drags me down, adds to the distraction of clutter that is already, well, distracting.

Others in this same predicament? Let's talk!

Addesso
06-16-14, 07:51 PM
Oh yeah, I've done a lot of this. Currently I'm pursuing filmmaking (writing, directing, producing) and it seems the best fit so far--especially as I do have an outlet for stories that pop into my head. But I've seriously studied and pursued as a career photography, oil painting, and graphic design in the past.

As for "hobbies"? Oh man, where would I start with that one. I just love working with my hands, and as more jobs become more digital these days, I end up finding all kinds of "handy" things to do to preoccupy them when the need arises. Some of the skills have come in handy--like car repair and home renovation. Others I actually got good at, but I know is a time filler, like knitting, woodworking, making models, cross-stitch, and a LOT of cooking endeavors. I baked a lot at one time, but would always just give the stuff away--all I really cared about was putting stuff together!